Michelangelo – Wire Quote

Standard

 

 

This is the next series of my experimentation of texts which I had been working on for a few months now, in which I move away from my earlier work of digital manipulation and start working onto something more physical. But that doesn’t mean that I have moved completely away from Photoshop, this is just how my work has been evolving. Particularly using the power of technology to destroy and then trying to mend using different materials, and how has that effect the pieces.

With Photoshop I am able to alter the text in ways that I have never done before, such as taking away and stripping down, which is difficult to achieve when physically altering it by hand. By doing this I am obscuring the viewers’ ability to read the quote, which in turn questions the purpose of the text, if it cannot be read then is it still regarded as a piece of text, or has that changed the text into an unlikely image. However if the audience is able to decode the text and is able to read it then does it still keep its purpose? Or does it take on the role of an image as oppose to being just texts.

Michelangelo was known to be sexist and completely is obsessed with the male beauty, to the point that he would use only male models even when painting or sculpting female figures, he thought that males were at the top of the food chain and females beneath. From my earlier experiments I used Photoshop to perform a series of different experiments in which I either stripped the text apart or layered on top of it to the point of difficultly in reading.

????????????????????

Using technology to strip away the power of the text and then attempting to mend it back, by using the old way of fixing clothing, which is stitching; by stitching I am bringing back the old traditions. Stitching is an important tool that we still use today. The whole point to stitch is to fix and mend, which is an important trait for women up until the 20th century, to weave the stitching into an attractive pattern is an added bonus, making them more attractive and eligible for marriage.

When stitching with wire I intend to mend the faded, barely-there text but instead of choosing sewing thread the material I choose was beading wire, as I didn’t want the final results to appear perfect, therefore breaking the tradition that the roles and intentions of stitching and sewing and of women.

zwong_wire quote1

Leave a Reply

